top of page

Anointing of the Sick

The Components of the Sacrament

Dependent upon the circumstances, the Liturgy of this  Sacrament normally includes the Introductory Rites of  (sprinkling with Holy Water), Penitential Rite and Liturgy of the Word.

The Liturgy then proceeds with:
  • A Litany of Saints, to implore God for His assistance;

  • The healing gesture of Laying on of the hands;

  • The Anointing of the forehead and palms of the hands with the Holy Oil of the Sick. 

The Sacrament concludes with additional prayers and final Blessing,  and if appropriate, can be followed by the receiving of Holy Communion.
bottom of page